Potential Cover Art for WIngs

Potential Cover Art for WIngs

Image reprinted with the kind permission of the Arizona Wing of the Commemorative Air Force, Falcon Field, Mesa, Arizona, http://www.azcaf.org

A couple of exciting things have happened in the world of On the Wings of Morning since the last post. First, I received permission from the Arizona Wing of the Commemorative Air Force to use an imge off their website for the book’s cover art. (The image appears above.) Second, Jane Riley of the Manassas Museum has invited me to do a book talk and signing of Wing when it comes out, probably in June. So I have a signing gig without having a book published! There’s an incentive to get on the ball and get the novel out there! Thanks to Jane for the invitation and for her consistent encouragement of local writers! Here’s a link to the Manassas Museum System, a wonderful collection of local historical sights and displays: http://www.manassascity.org/index.aspx?NID=211

It’s appropriate I have a picture in an early post. Sometimes people ask me how I had the idea for the novel. I have been a student of World War II for decades now, with a particular interest in the air war in Europe. One afternoon I came across a picture of a B-17 pilot with his back to the camera walking toward his aircraft. Instantly I had an identity for the pilot and knew his whole story from his parents forward to his post-war experiences. It was just a matter of writing it down, so I started on May 1, 2012 and finished last October 10. It was the most engaging and exciting writing I have ever done, and I’ve done a LOT of writing.

I have been unable to locate the photograph since I saw it, so, dear readers, if you run across it, please leave me a comment about its location. I would love to use it for a cover as well.

Right now the book is being read by some very kind friends who are functioning as a “beta reading group.” As they finish in the next couple of weeks, it will be time to move on to publishing. More about that daunting task next week. Until then, smooth take-offs and soft landings to each of you.

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

