What’s Happening

This is the type of bomber Otto Kerchner flew in the novel.

This is the type of bomber Otto Kerchner flew in the novel.

I’ve had a couple of exciting developments in the past week. I contacted a lady at church, Dawn Dowdle, who is a literary agent, for suggestions about possible publisher. Dawn very kindly directed me to Koehler Books of New York and Virginia Beach, saying that they liked military historical novels, which is right down On the Wings of Morning’s alley!

I’ve been working through the procedures for submitting the novel to Koehler. They take finished manuscripts, which I will have as soon as I hear from a last couple of beta readers. They also require a cover letter with a synopsis of the book (no problem), a “marketing plan” which details the potential readership for the book and venues for its promotion and sale and a bio (no problem). This cover letter is important because they will look further into the book if the letter is appealing. I know next to nothing about marketing, but fortunately, my friend Linda Johnston, whose book Hope Amid Hardship (http://www.amazon.com/Hope-Amid-Hardship-Pioneer-Territory/dp/0762784865), uses pioneer writings from Kansas to illustrate the good times the early settlers enjoyed, knows a great deal about marketing and she is helping me. Thanks, Linda! Her book comes out in August. I’ve seen drafts of it and it’s lovely! Linda illustrated the selections with watercolors and I wish her every success with her book.

And so, I am working on my cover letter. I should be able to submit my manuscript to Koehler in a couple of weeks and then, according to their website, should hear from them a couple a weeks after that.

In other news, I’ve arranged for a book signing at my favorite hardware store here in Manassas, Rice’s Hardware, which has been in business for over 75 years. I’ve been going to Rice’s for thirty years, and you won’t find a better selection of hardware (and other) items or more outstanding customer service anywhere. I’ll let you know when the book signing comes about. I suppose I’m in a kind of unusual position in having two book signings scheduled and no published book. Better get to work on that!

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Happening

  1. Hannah Nixon says:

    Wishing you only the best, Dan!

  2. huckfinn47 says:

    Thank you, Hannah! I appreciate your kind words. Stay tuned each week for more novel news!

Leave a Reply

