Not So Fast There, Sunny Jim!

Sad Kitty

It was last Friday that I announced in this space that I had received an offer of a contract for On the Wings of Morning and would probably sign the contract after consulting a few friends about it. A number of people rejoiced with me, and I was over the moon, to use a phrase. But then I began to hear from people whose opinion I respect that they had doubts about the ability of the publisher to deliver all they promised. I reviewed some information online and reluctantly had to agree with them.

So, no contract, no book in a few months. I’m sorry I led any readers down the primrose path of happiness. It took me a couple of days to get over my disappointment, but with the kind encouragement of my friends and family, I am back to sending submissions to the next publishers on my list of ten. I will keep on keeping on, and I learned (once again) several important lessons:

1. Success doesn’t come quickly or easily.
2. Something that seems too good to be true probably is.
3. A fool is born every day.
4. Check out any offer thoroughly before you take it.
5. The best friends are the ones who will tell you the truth, no matter what it is or what it costs them or you.
6. I am blessed to have a wonderful circle of friends and family.

And so, we press on. Thank you for your encouragement and for sticking with me in this adventure. Faithful readers, you ROCK!

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

