A Shift in Strategy

These are not actual book submissions. Most are sent by email.

These are not actual book submissions. Most are sent by email.

I have changed my strategy in the past couple of weeks for trying to get my book published, sending queries and forms to agents instead of publishers. So far, I’ve contacted three agents from a list of ten (it’s been a busy couple of weeks). Score so far: 0 for 2 that I’ve heard from. The third hasn’t replied.

I know, it’s more difficult to find an agent than a publisher, but I thought it would be worth a try. The rejection messages were encouraging and sympathetic, but I think I’ll try the rest of the agents on my list and then go back to publishers. I did hear from Robinson Knox Publishers after I sent them a query and the first three chapters of Wings. They wanted to see the whole manuscript, so I sent that in but haven’t heard anything back. Patience, patience.

In the meantime, I need to start on the outline for the second book in the Wings series, which will be called On Eagle Wings Upborne. I have a lot of ideas for the second book of Otto’s adventures. Watch this space!

I would be remiss if I didn’t say thank you to the people who have been encouraging me in this process. Your kind words mean the world to me! Thank you!

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Shift in Strategy

  1. I think you’ve chosen the better route. Most publishers who accept non-solicited manuscripts are small POD or independent houses. Going through an agent will give you a better market. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

