Yet Another Change in Course

A figure from the '60's, icon for a brand of rolling papers, used by certain people to smoke substances now legal in Washington State and Colorado.

A figure from the ’60’s, icon for a brand of rolling papers, used by certain people to smoke substances now legal in Washington State and Colorado.

I’m thinking of changing my nickname from Lt. Dan to Captain Zig-Zag although I have never smoked any funny weed associated with the rolling papers endorsed by the Captain. So, there was no need for me not to inhale.

No, I’ve had another change in course with my efforts to market my novel. You might remember last week I wrote that I was going to pursue trying to get an agent to represent my book. Well, I am zero for five and I know it takes persistence, but I’m far less likely to find an agent to represent my book than I am to find a publisher willing to publish it. So it’s back to sending out manuscripts and queries to publishers. Or preparing to.

At the present time, I have eleven queries out to publishers. Two of them offered me “co-publication” deals wherein I would pay part of the cost of producing the novel. I am holding out for a so-called “full contract” and have heard from one publisher who wanted to see the whole manuscript after I had sent a synopsis and the first thirty pages (which are not the most thrilling, btw. That happens about page 150). I should hear back from them, if at all, in about another month. These things move slowly.

The remaining eight publishers will take anywhere from June through October to get back to me. They’re small and have a limited staff. I’m hoping for eight offers and a bidding war for my book. I’m also hoping to rise and fly tomorrow morning. Come watch me take off!

No, srsly, as the kids would say, I have decided to get organized about this ISO process of finding a publisher. I have developed two lists of ten (each) prospects and will send the next ten out the first of May, with the last ten the first of June.

I’m also making mental outlines for the second book in the Wings of Morning series. It is to be called On Eagle Wings Upborne and will follow Otto and Betty and their friends and relatives from 1948 until about 1960. Stay tuned! There’s more suffering and angst (as well as good times) to come!

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

