But Wait, There’s More!

The Blue Horizon. Yep, this is what it looks like.

Just when I told you last week about the titles for what promises (or threatens) to be a five- or six-book series, I’ve changed some of them. I’ve also changed the name of the series, but haven’t changed it yet on the blog. I will, at some point. Don’t worry! (Be happy!)

So, the series is now going to be called Beyond the Blue Horizon. the five or six book titles will all have wings in them, which I think is appropriate for books with a lot of airplanes and flying going on.

The five titles are (for now):

1. On Wings of the Morning
2. On the Wings of the Wind
3. On the Wings of Angels
4. On Celestial Wings Upborne
5. On the Wings of Grace

So, why do I fiddle with titles so much? Well, (1), I like titles. It would be hard to distinguish works of literature and things of that ilk without them and (2), they’re a good way to draw a reader into a book. Some titles have famously been changes. Joseph Heller’s Catch-22 was to have been Catch-18 (and they didn’t have global search and replace back then! Arrgh!), but Mila-18 by Leon Uris was about to come out, and Heller’s publishers didn’t want the two books confused (as if they were at all similar, which they aren’t, other than both being about World War II, which Catch-22 isn’t. It’s about General Motors.) (Hang in there with me…I’ll do an explanation sometime on my other blog, Biscuit City.and (3), thematically related titles are a good way to tie a series together. A reader might say, “I want another one of those books about wings and order a couple of hundred for himself and all his friends (hint, hint, readers).

So there you have it. And you heard it here first. Thank you, good night, and remember to tip your server.

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

