So We’ll Keep Rolling On

Image

A Buffalo Airlines DC-3 named “Summer Wages.” I like it!

The title of this piece comes from an old Ian and Sylvia song, “Summer Wages.” Here’s a link to a video of them doing it with Emmy Lou Harris:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65CL9NrlL5I It seems appropriate to what is happening in Novel Land.

I last heard from the good people at eLectio Publishing about a week ago when I emailed them to make sure they had received the signed contract page for On Wings of the Morning. They had, and wrote that they would be in touch when the book was “in process.” I imagine my first task will be to look over the “publisher’s edit” and see what I want to do with their suggestions.  With a probable publishing date of late October, I flatter myself to think the manuscript was a “clean edit.” (Thanks, local editors and beta readers!) So, I’ll keep you informed.

I continue on the first draft of On the Wings of Angels, the third book in the Beyond the Blue Horizon series. (The other two are On Wings of the Morning and On the Wings of the Wind.) I’m up to 30,000 words out of a projected 80,000, so I should finish by late October.

Exciting times, all right. Stay tuned!

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

