Five-Eighths Done

Image

Today I reached the 50,000 word mark with On the Wings of Angels, Book III of the Beyond the Blue Horizon series. That means, if this book runs the same length as the first two (On Wings of the Morning and On the Wings of the Wind), then I’m 5/8 of the way done. What fun!

In other news, no word from my publisher. My edit of the book must have been unparalleled in the history of publishing!

I was thinking about structure and plotting in this third book. Without giving too much away, it has an accidental death that turns out to be not so accidental, an arson, a bite from a timber rattler, and a kidnapping. Originally I had these events take place fairly close together chronologically, but thought it would be an overload for the reader. So I space them out with some lighter interludes in between. It’s a principle of structure that too many dire events have the opposite effect on readers. After a while they want to laugh at misfortune, even if they are sensitive and wonderful people. It’s just too much to take, so they check out emotionally. Shakespeare knew this, and used comic relief in the darkest of his tragedies. After Macbeth and Lady Macbeth have killed King Duncan, there’s a comic scene with a drunken gatekeeper. The contrast is important, and deepens the tragedy.

So, hold on. The books are coming. When they’re here, I hope you enjoy them.

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

