Stranger than Fiction

Bessica RaicheHello, Faithful Readers,

I’ve decided to combine some of my blogs since I’m writing six a week and need more time to work with my first novel, due out October 22 and available on Amazon.com and other places. I’ll be continuing Biscuit City on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, Preaching to the Choir on Tuesdays and Beyond the Blue Horizon (this blog) Thursdays. Stay with me!

I became aware doing some research for the third novel in the series, On the Wings of Angels, of the first woman to solo in an airplane and also the first to fly across the country. Her name was Bessica Raiche, and she came from Wisconsin. She drove an automobile and wore bloomers. She swam and enjoyed shooting guns and had talents as a musician, painter, and linguist.

 

Bessica and her husband Frank built a Wright type biplane in their living room and then assembled it in their yard. They constructed their flyer from bamboo and silk instead of a heavier canvas covering used by the Wright brothers.

The couple went on to build two more airplanes as part of the French-American Aeroplane Company They innovated by using lighter weight materials in aircraft construction, including the use of piano wire to replace heavier iron wire.

Bessica had been a dentist before she became interested in flying and later became one of the frist women doctors to specialize in obstetrics and gynecology.

I know I had never heard of her, but she was an amazing woman for her time or for any other, for that matter.

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

