“Mata’s Story”: The Beginning

Earlier this month, I blogged about a novel based on the Beyond the Blue Horizon series, which relates the adventures of Otto Kerchner, a Wisconsin farm boy who learns to fly, serves in the ETO, is badly burned and comes home to a changes post-war America. A number of readers told me that the found Mata, Otto’s sister, an interesting character, so I started a novel telling his story from her point of view. And so Mata’s Story was born.

I made the writing my contribution to National Novel Writing Month (or, as the hip kids call it, NaNoWriMo), with the intention of achieving the project’s goal of 50,000 words. That didn’t happen–I fell far short with 12,733 words, but I made a good start on the book. Now I want to turn to On the Wings of Faith, Book 5 in the Beyond the Blue Horizon series, which stands at about 23,00 words, and return to Mata’s Story every month until it’s done in September, 2015. I hope you’ll follow this blog with its periodic updates of a writer’s progress. Thank you, and enjoy!

                                                             Mata’s Story
                                                               Chapter 1
                                                    By Way of Introduction
                                                         November, 2014
      So many readers have asked me how I came to write the story of Otto Kerchner, war hero, father to a wonderful family, successful businessman and patriot throughout his life, and the answer is, I almost didn’t.
     

A dairy farm of the type Otto grew up on

The farm where much of Mata’s Story takes place.

I went to meet Major Kerchner at the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) Fly-In last year at Osh Kosh, Wisconsin, about a four-hour drive from Pioneer Lake where he lives, near the airport he has been associated with for so long. I wanted to interview him for a book I wanted to write about his life, but he steadfastly and politely refused to give me any more information than was contained in public records. My project would have dried up had it not been for his sister Mata. She had accompanied him to Osh Kosh that year, and I think she had grown a little bored sitting by while Otto was chatting, signing autographs, and flying off (literally) for various demonstrations and joy rides. So she talked to me through the long hours underneath the tent and on walks through the Wisconsin meadows. She was 90 then, and still firm of mind and strong of body. Over those five days and in months of talks by phone and in person, she told me all I needed to know about Otto for my book—and in so doing, she told her own story. Here it is.

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

